UQ achievers recognised on Australia Day

2 Feb 2021

An expert in Indigenous architecture, a noted historian and a history-making teacher joined a raft of talented University of Queensland alumni recognised in the 2021 Australia Day honours.

UQ Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Deborah Terry AO congratulated all recipients, and said it was heartening to see the University continued to be an important part of the journey for some of the nation’s highest achievers.

“Some amazing people make up this nation, and their diverse endeavours – making this world a better place for us all – are highlighted in the awards,” Professor Terry said.

Director of UQ’s Aboriginal Environments Research Centre, Professor Paul Memmott, was recognised for distinguished service to ethno-architecture and anthropology, to Indigenous housing and cultural heritage, and to tertiary education.

Professor Paul Memmott AOHe helped open new areas of materials science research at UQ when Indjalandji-Dhidhanu traditional owners showed him practical uses for their local spinifex grass more than a decade ago.

Also recognised was noted historian Emeritus Professor Kay Saunders AM, who was awarded her UQ PhD in 1975 and worked as a UQ history professor from 2002 until her 2005 retirement. Emeritus Professor Saunders served on the University’s Senate and published widely in the fields of race relations, the political economy of the sugar industry, Sir Samuel Griffith and the making of the Australian Constitution.

UQ Senate member and Business School Adjunct Professor Dr Sally Pitkin AO became an officer in the awards’ general division, acknowledging her distinguished service to business, corporate governance standards and performance, to the arts and to the advancement of women.

Judith Bell AM also served on the UQ Senate, and was recognised for significant service to the administration of justice, to the visual arts, and to education.

Other UQ alumni honoured included mathematician, Emeritus Professor Cheryl Praeger AC, for eminent service to mathematics and to tertiary education as a leading academic and researcher, and as a champion of women in STEM careers.

Professor Helene Marsh received an AO for distinguished service to the biological and environmental sciences, while Trish White AM was acknowledged for significant service to engineering, and to the people and Parliament of South Australia.

Professor Terry said that seeing female academics, industry and business leaders recognised served as great inspiration for UQ’s efforts to advance gender equity.

“These women are outstanding role models for females entering heavily male-dominated-areas, particularly in STEMM fields,” Professor Terry said.

Former long-serving Dean of the UQ Faculty of Arts, Donald Barrett AM, was recognised for significant service to tertiary education, particularly to the classics and ancient history. He was Queensland’s oldest registered practising school teacher when he retired in 2018 and remains an Honorary research Associate Professor at UQ.

Other UQ community members recognised this week were:

Officer of the Order of Australia (AO)

Mr Malcolm Hazell AO – alumnus

Major General Roger Noble AO – alumnus

Adjunct Professor Russell Reichelt AO – alumnus

Member of the Order of Australia (AM)

Ms Kerrin Benson AM – alumnus

Mr Antoni Bonetti AM – former staff member

Mrs Kirsty Brown AM – alumnus

Colonel Bill Kelly AM – alumnus

Dr Michael Humphrey AM – alumnus

Dr Bruce Lister AM – alumnus

Dr Robyn Sheahan-Bright AM – alumnus

Ms Elizabeth Swan AM – alumnus

Dr Kevin Vandeleur AM - alumnus

Dr Carden Wallace AM – alumnus

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

Mr Raymond Bange OAM – alumnus

Mr Robert Hale OAM – alumnus

Emeritus Professor John Hardy OAM – alumnus

Dr Tammy Hoffmann OAM – alumnus

Mr Brian Hollins OAM – alumnus

Dr Jeffrey Kemp OAM – alumnus

Ms Wendy Lewis OAM – alumnus

Dr Richard Loh OAM – alumnus

Mr John Martin OAM – alumnus

Dr James McGill AM – alumnus

Dr Frederick Morgan OAM – alumnus

Dr David Outridge OAM – alumnus

Dr Barbara Reynolds-Hutchinson OAM – alumnus

Mr Thomas Ryan OAM – alumnus

Mr Christopher Schull OAM – alumnus

Mrs Rosalind Williams OAM – alumnus

Dr John Youngman OAM - alumnus

Public Service Medal (PSM)

Ms Suzanne Coxon PSM - alumnus

Mr Anthony O’Dea PSM - alumnus

Australian Police Medal (APM)

Miss Melissa Adams APM – alumnus

Information on the awardees is on the Governor-General’s website.

Media: communications@uq.edu.au, +61 (7) 3346 7086.